#phonar2016 #TASK4#TimWalker

Tweet- Summaries the task and tweet it in no more than three tweets, using the relevant hashtags.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.50.00.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.50.09.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 06.09.18.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.48.34.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.48.46.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.49.38.png

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.49.26.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.49.12.png

Experimenting with my first idea –

Originally I planned on experimenting with Lucas Foglia’s task which was to make something happy seem sad. These are some of the images I created, however once combining them onto video format I felt it did not turn out how I expected as the video didn’t seem interesting. I felt the images I created were strong as they fit the brief but did not look good on video format.This is why I have decided to change my idea, and experiment with another task I that I was interested in which was Tim Walker’s.

 

Make something happy seem sad.jpg

 

 

FINAL BODY OF WORK

This is my interpretation of  ‘Tim Walkers – its all about love’ task below:

( Aim: To create a video format for the task)

 

 

Critical Rationale

 

 

I chose to expand on Tim Walkers ‘its all about love’ task as not only is he one of m favourite photographers but he’s task also intrigued me as I read the task further as he explains how loving your subject is what creates the best photographs. This is something that I truly believe in myself which is why I feel I tend to gravitate to photographing my family for most my projects, as my family are who I love most.  By photographing subjects that you admire I feel like it enables you to create stronger pieces of work, as you are able to play and experiment with your subjects.

Lighting and colour were key elements in the task which is why I used a photographic technique called light painting, which basically involved using long exposure and a torch to light the subject. I used coloured gels in front of the torch to introduce the theme of colour and the link between my subject and how a colour can create different emotions and atmosphere to the viewer. This was a great way to experiment with both elements of the task. By playing around with different colours for this task it has enabled me to create a narrative as you can get an idea of the identity of my subjects as the colour creates different moods. At first I was hesitant to create a video as I was unsure how I could interpret this task, however once brainstorming ideas and creating my final piece, I feel that video format works best for this task as it supports my imagery however it creates an atmosphere that an image might not necessarily do. Before I chose the colours I researched online the representation of each colour, and the mood which it creates so this will allow me to understand how I want to represent my subject by using a specific colour to create a mood. Colours such as blue and yellow can be seen as calming and warm however green can be seen as more mysterious. This shows how colour is an important element within the photography field as it creates an atmosphere to the viewers which enables them to exam in the image further, excluding the content but analyzing the colours and tones of an image. I feel that my photograph shows the truth and identity of my subjects. Using colours and light to create a mood and atmosphere and thinking about shadows and highlights this allowed me to expand my knowledge on the importance of each element within a photograph. For this project light was one of the key elements in creating visual language, by looking at visual narrative and how to create an emotional response that intrigues the audience.

 

 

Overall this was one of my favourite tasks from the Photographer’s Playbook as it allowed me to be creative and think about how using a different format changes the project and understand how to improve my project to fit different mediums such as video.

Although at the beginning I struggled to find an idea of which task from the workshop to develop further and how I would create the task in video format, I realised that Tim Walkers task would be a great concept to explore. At first I was hesitant to use my family for this project as I did not want all my tasks to seem the same, however I naturally seemed to gravitate to the theme of family as they are the ones who I love most, which was the theme of the project. As I originally had an idea in my head of how I could interpret this task I thought that the concept would work out really well which is why I decided to develop this idea further. I am happy that I experimented with different ideas as a photographer it allowed me to develop and understand ways in which I can improve. I wanted to ensure that each task was to the best of my ability, which Is why it was important that I planned before hand, time management skills was essential when creating this task in particular as I wanted to make sure I had enough time in case any errors or changes occurred.

 

Leave a comment