#phonar2016 #AaronSchuman#TASK5

Tweet: Summaries the task and tweet it in no more than three tweets, using the relevant hashtags.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 07.58.41.png

Ideas/Brainstorm:

Idea 1- Letters from Prison

Scan boyfriends letters in

Use archive Images

Using Objects to show feelings such as crushed flowers, Lock, Handcuffs, Gifts from boyfriend > Broken Heart, Loneliness?

Portrait of myself (silhouette), Depression?

Example (Google images):

 

_____

Idea 2- Death in family

EMPTYNESS ( Take images of old room, objects)

ARCHIVES (old images, memories)

___

Idea 3-Recreating Photographs/Childhood memories:

playing – bubbles, cousins, parties, items from childhood ,hide and seek, riding bike.

Then and Now- baby shoes and my shoes now , movies I used to watch and now, my old favourite books and books I read now, baby toys and what I use now (phone).

This theme is about using old n new photographs, to show memories/longing for a particular time or place.

_______

Representational Portrait of Aaron Schuman:

aaronschuman copy.jpg

This is a representation portrait of Aaron Schuman, who is an American photographer, curator and writer based in the UK. He is also the founder and editor of an online photography journal; seesaw magazine. 
He is currently a senior lecturer at the arts university Bournemouth and university of Brighton. Aaron is interested in reviewing all types of photographic work. I wanted to show this through the portrait by using one of his images from the summer set series (2011-2013).I found out an interesting fact through secondary research, by a student of Aaron Schuman, I learnt that he assisted Annie Leibovitz, with the famous images of Kate Moss and Johnny Depp which were taken in 1994. #aaronschuman #phonar2016 #Photographersplaybook

____

Image in the style of Aaron Schuman

S65A1916-2.jpg

This is a photograph in the style of Aaron Schuman’s photograph. For his series Folk (2013-14), this project was a personal exploration of his family history which overlapped with his exploration of the ethnographic museum. He often photographed objects for this series, objects that felt familiar to him. Objects such as painted eggs, which he would sometimes make as a child with his mother and grandmother for Easter. These familiar objects brought back memories to him, he says ‘it was a very strange experience, because culturally it felt like something new and fascinating and far away, but also very close to me in ways I Didn’t really understand..’
This project was a personal investigation but also an exploration into how ‘Ethnography’ itself is preserved and represented.

This series explores his own and polish heritage. He says,” I remember when we were walking through the museum together, the sparkle in your eye when you recognized something familiar going from your home town, your childhood and your family stories “
These objects, artefacts and images revealed something about the history and culture, he often recognised himself and his own behaviour within these artefacts as he felt connected to them.

#phonar2016 #photographersplaybook #aaronschuman

_____

Final Images:

The aim of this project was show nostalgia which basically means longing for a particular time or place/ memories.

Although most my Phonar projects tend to be based around family, this is an area of photography that I particularly enjoy however I was unaware of this before starting the tasks from the photographers playbook as at  first I felt it would be boring subject as my main interest is fashion photography. Once prating different themes around family, I felt that I learnt not only more about my family history but it also allowed me to experiment with each concept. As my family are supportive, this was more of a collaborative project as they were involved in most stages of photography.

When I first think of the word nostalgia, to me I automatically think of childhood memories. Memories that have shaped me to who I am today, memories that I would love to relive. For my project I combined old and new photographs together to show change, I wanted to show my viewers the changes from when that image was taken to now, however  not only physical changes , but changes within our society and relationships.

I wanted my images to show that  as life changes so does the individual and their relationships with others. We tend to make new friends, and loose friendships and experience death and happiness.  Technology  and individual interests also changes as you can see through my images, from playing with toys as a child to now playing around with technology such as mobile phones. Growing up as a kid before and now  is completely different as you see how society is slowly corrupting these happy memories I experienced as a child.

__

Dear Aaron Schuman,

I am currently a second year studying photography at Coventry University. For my module, we were given tasks from the Photographer’s Playbook in which we had to respond to. I was fortunate to be given your task exploring nostalgia, which I particularly enjoyed creating. Our aim as a class is to create a publication in response to each task in the book.

At first, I was a little confused about the task, however once discussing with my group and researching I had a better idea of ways to interpret this task.

As most my other tasks allocated by my teacher were based around family, I wanted to ensure that each task I responded to was different so I brainstormed ideas, however for this project I felt that exploring the idea of childhood and change would be a great way. As I am now 22, at university and living away from home it is normal to miss your childhood when life was easy and when you had your family to take care of you. As I am now getting older I now have to make my own life decisions which can be challenging and you start to reminisce on your past and want to relive your old memories, longing to go back to that particular time or place. As time goes on, life changes, people come and go in your life and its normal to miss what you are used to. Which is why I felt that this project was perfect for me, as an individual I dislike change in my life, so this task gave me an opportunity to revisit old memories and evoke old emotions.

I decided to combine old and new photographs together to show these changes in my life, which I felt worked quite well for your project.

I am emailing you to thank you for giving me the opportunity to expand my photography practice. This has given me an open mind to the type of photography I may want to explore within my career as a fashion photographer I was very content on focusing on that particular area of photography. However once taking part in your task I enjoyed exploring another area of photography, and I hope to continue to expand on this project further.

I really the liked the concept of your task as it was open it has made me think about photography in a completely different way and allowed me to understand how to use different mediums for a project. I know you must be busy as I am aware that you are not only a photographer and editor but also lecturer but please feel free to take a look at my blog online, in response to you task: (https://priyankaghetiaphotography.wordpress.com/2016/05/15/phonar2016-aaronschumantask5/). I have also attached some imagery that I feel best represents your task via this email, if this is easier. I would love to hear your thoughts on how you feel I have interpreted this task. I appreciate any criticism and comments you may have as I appreciate any opportunity to expand on my practice, especially from such a successful and inspiring photographer such as yourself.

Look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards,

Priyanka Ghetia

__

Critical Rationale:

The theme of my project was to explore Nostalgia by Aaron Schuman, I feel that this has been a great task for me personally as it suits the type of individual I am.  As an individual I struggle to let go of the past, and hold on to memories too deeply that I constantly want to relive old moments within my life. By taking part in this task, it has allowed me to explore my childhood memories and the good and bad changes within my life. The biggest challenge I faced for this task was exploring ways in which I can show these changes within my photography. I experimented with different approaches however I felt superimposing old and new photos onto each other worked well for the theme of this project to show nostalgia and change. I also scanned in some awards to show achievements within my life, and drawings from my childhood to show how these memories have made me who I am today.

When creating the representational portrait of the photographer, I struggled to find much information online fortunately I know one of his students so I was able to ask her about his life, and her view on how I can create an image that best represents him. I do feel like this task turned out better than expected as I wanted to ensure my images were not too similar to my other tasks that were chosen from the Photographer’s Playbook, as although I explored similar themes within each project focusing on family, I wanted make sure that I interpreted each task differently using another approach and medium. Overall I am pleased with the final outcome and enjoyed participating in this task as it has allowed me to broaden my knowledge and think differently when taking photographs.

Leave a comment